Category Archives: Databases

Current Database Trials

The TCU Library is currently trialing several databases. Check them out here or on the database trials page, and let us know your thoughts.

Social Explorer  Trial ends: 4/2/2017

Creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. An invaluable repository of information, the site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000. Users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations.

Coverage dates: 1790 – present.

AtoZ Maps Online  Trial ends: 4/30/2017

Contains 145,000 royalty-free maps that can be downloaded and printed. Collection includes both antique and contemporary maps. Geographic coverage is from the world down to the US city level. Special maps include climate, geology, ecology, war, and history. Add-ons include country flags, quizzes and puzzles, and teaching tools.

Coverage dates: Varies.

Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982  Trial ends: 5/25/2017

Electronic version of an essential print reference, provides indexing for millions of articles in over 500 leading magazines. Includes peer-reviewed and consumer publications. Key finding tool for many 20th century publications where indexing did not begin until the 1980s.

Coverage dates: 1890-1982.

HeinOnline  Trial ends: 9/1/2017

HeinOnline is the world’s largest fully searchable PDF image-based, government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.

Coverage dates: Late 18th century to present.

 

Comments Off on Current Database Trials

Art Source Database Renamed

TCU Library’s core visual arts research database, Art Source, has a new name! As of November 1, 2016 Art Source will be retitled in the TCU Library list of databases to Art & Architecture Source.

Our apologies for this mid-semester inconvenience. Note, EBSCO Industries has not changed the scope or the content of Art Source, just its name.

Comments Off on Art Source Database Renamed

Database Trial through September 28: Primal Pictures Human Anatomy

Nursing and other students of anatomy will find our trial database Primal Pictures Human Anatomy  of interest. It provides medically accurate and detailed 3D graphic rendering of human anatomy. After selecting a portion of the anatomy to study in detail, options include 3D rotational images of multiple layers, slides, MRIs, and movies. Layers will begin with bone, and move up through systems such as muscles, nerves, tendons, ligaments, circulatory system, etc. Every still image can be rotated, and each segment has a label which is visible on mouse-over. Trial runs through September 28.

Comments Off on Database Trial through September 28: Primal Pictures Human Anatomy

American Civil War

If you are an American Civil War buff, then you will want to check out the newly updated databases.
Comments Off on American Civil War

Free eCollection of 9/11 books during September

2011 marks the 10th anniversary of 9/11.
Also posted in Faculty Info, Library Staff, Student Info | Comments Off on Free eCollection of 9/11 books during September