Category Archives: Databases

Database Trial: HeinOnline

This trial ends September 1. HeinOnline is the world’s largest fully searchable PDF image-based, government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.Please evaluate it and let us know your thoughts.

Leave a comment

Database Trial: Safari Books Online

This trial ends April 21. Safari Books Online’s on-demand digital library provides access to over 40,000 technology books and videos from leading publishers. Please evaluate it and let us know your thoughts.

Leave a comment

Database Trial: RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals

This trial ends on April 13th.  The RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals consists of original volumes, reprints, microforms and photocopies of music periodicals. Please evaluate it and let us know your thoughts.

Comments Off on Database Trial: RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals

Database Trial: Safari Books Online

Safari Books Online’s on-demand digital library provides access to over 40,000 technology books and videos from leading publishers.

The trial expires on April 21st. Please evaluate this resource and let us know your thoughts.

Comments Off on Database Trial: Safari Books Online

Current Database Trials

The TCU Library is currently trialing several databases. Check them out here or on the database trials page, and let us know your thoughts.

Social Explorer  Trial ends: 4/2/2017

Creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. An invaluable repository of information, the site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000. Users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations.

Coverage dates: 1790 – present.

AtoZ Maps Online  Trial ends: 4/30/2017

Contains 145,000 royalty-free maps that can be downloaded and printed. Collection includes both antique and contemporary maps. Geographic coverage is from the world down to the US city level. Special maps include climate, geology, ecology, war, and history. Add-ons include country flags, quizzes and puzzles, and teaching tools.

Coverage dates: Varies.

Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982  Trial ends: 5/25/2017

Electronic version of an essential print reference, provides indexing for millions of articles in over 500 leading magazines. Includes peer-reviewed and consumer publications. Key finding tool for many 20th century publications where indexing did not begin until the 1980s.

Coverage dates: 1890-1982.

HeinOnline  Trial ends: 9/1/2017

HeinOnline is the world’s largest fully searchable PDF image-based, government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.

Coverage dates: Late 18th century to present.

 

Comments Off on Current Database Trials