Here is a pdf version of the power point I showed in class (I think I have finally figured out how to do this).
StrategicManagementResearch
Just occurred to me that I do not believe I have posted the pathway to get to the TCU databases. Based on the emails I get, there are at least a few people who don’t know, so here it is.
Go to www.lib.tcu.edu
click on the “Journal Articles & Databases” link on the left side of the [...]
Only of use to TCU folks- to access the Wall Street Journal (full text): I am giving you instructions on how to only search through the Wall Street Journal publication.
Go to the TCU database, Factiva  (note: this database only allows 5 users at a time, so if a nonTCU password screen pops up, that means that [...]
Morningstar Rocks! They keep sending free investment reports and giving permission for those reports to get posted onto blogs. SO- here a Morningstar report on how to invest in “green” and “socially responsible” companies. Reports within the pdf include: 1) Socially Responsible Investing, 2) Going Beyond the Hype of Green Investing, 3) Carbon Regulation, 4) [...]
Continue reading about Morningstar’s Guide to Green & Socially Responsible Investing
One of our database vendors, Morningstar, sent their analyst’s investment report for 2009 with permission to put on a website. So I am. There are 4 different reports in the pdf file: 1) 10 Best Companies in the World, 2) The Best Funds for 2009, 3) Retirees’ 2009 Survival Guide, and 4) Clip and Save: 20 [...]
TCU’s domestic industry database, IBISWorld, is now providing recession analysis for each industry (down to the 5 digit NAICS code). Here’s their blip:
In response, IBISWorld has developed a special “Recession Insights” macro-economic study. From this high level study, we have developed new “Recession Update” chapters for all industry reports – including quarterly forecasts for all 700 [...]
Continue reading about IBISWorld- Industry Specific Recession Info
The TCU database, Morningstar, contains the Ibbotson Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation (SBBI) Classic Yearbook which contains historical market information. This report provides data and analysis of both domestic and international markets. The report in the database is for 2007, but does contain some historical data within it.
To get to the report, click on the [...]
I really just used the title as an attention getter. This one’s a no brainer comparison-wise, but a common “mistake” for TCU students.Â
1. Â If you go to the website, www.hoovers.com you will be able to get some information from the site; however, at some point, it will ask you for your credit card # in [...]
Continue reading about Smackdown: Hoovers.com vs. Hoover’s Online